Hatsune Miku: Project Diva Mega Mix Makes Her First Debut On The Switch!

Everyone’s heard of Hatsune Miku. The singing vocaloid with her trademark blue hair has had a long run with the Project Diva series, spanning all the way back to her first release on July 2nd of 2009 on the PlayStation Portable handheld. Once things started heading towards the West, she was taken in with open arms. In fact, Hatsune Miku briefly had her own Dominos app in early 2013!

It’s hard to imagine the Domino’s feat. Hatsune Miku app ever being a thing.

Aside from that, the Hatsune Miku craze finally died down. Her last major release happened during 2016, and then: silence.

That is, until recently. The series’ tenth anniversary project, Project Diva Mega Mix is basically a port of Project Diva Future Tone. It features a compilation of songs collected from the renown Japanese arcade version, along with song customization with new trimmings and progressions from the originals. The menus also received a new revamp, as well as some new tracks to freshen up the ever-expanding collection. Project Diva Mega Mix pairs very well with the Switch, because the immense library can be taken with you wherever you want!

If you decide to get Project Diva Mega Mix, expect some new features as well! A new mode called Mix Mode, made so that you can take advantage of the Joy-Cons’ motion controls. You also get the ability to draw and customize the T-shirts that the characters wear. It also allows you too zoom, so the artists out there might be able to make something very interesting! If you don’t have the time for creating outfits, that’s fine too! The current library of clothes rival the music collection.

In this installment, you can look forward to some new songs too!

  • “Alien Alien”
  • “Dreamin Chuchu”
  • “Hibana”
  • “Jigsaw Puzzle”
  • “Jitterbug”
  • “Ooedo Juilanight”
  • “Roki”
  • “Teo”
  • “Catch the Wave”

Aside from “Catch the Wave” (the theme song), most of these songs are for those looking for a challenge, so beware! Together, the library now consists of about 101 songs for the base game, along with the 36 others available in the game’s add-on offerings.

The menu for the new Hatsune Miku release.

Newcomers to the series will be blown away at the sheer number of options readily available after purchase. Hatsune Miku: Project Diva Mega Mix will release on May 15 of 2020 exclusively on Nintendo Switch. Ten of its songs will make an appearance on the PS4 game (Hatsune Miku: Project Diva Future Tone) in a yet-to-be-determined date.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s